West Coaster

By WestCoaster

A Question of Necessity

Another beautiful day dawned I had the best intentions of having a busy and productive day but I was very tired, wearied so the morning was reduced to listening to some music, a playlist for a friend my mind drifting I had a coaching session, I wasn't really in the mood to skate but I forced myself to get ready and head to the rink.

I wasn't skating well, being late I didn't get a proper warm up and was just going through the motions which is not really me, a moments lapse in concentration, a caught toe pick, a fall... disaster. I landed squarely on my knees innocuous a fall I have had many times before hands out on the ice to break my fall one of the other skaters caught one of my outstretched hands with a blade with enough force to break a finger and literally cut me to the bone, I handnt noticed the hand injury as I was still kneeling, giving myself a minute to make sure I was ok before getting up to skate on. My coach said your hand as I went to get to my feet I then saw the extent of my hand injury, nothing to stitch as the sliver of flesh was missing.

A blip was not on my mind for the remains of the day, I was given a significant amount of pain relief which whilst dulling the pain made me feel quite unwell! Feeling very sorry for myself I though I would wait to shoot a predictable sunset as another emergency Blip. I went for a walk to get some air to see if it helped relieve the nauseousness, the sun still bright in the early evening the breeze warm it was pleasant and as I drank in the fresh air I felt a little better, a chat with my friend buoyed my spirits as it always does hearing of their day and their news always makes me smile.

Still bleeding and bereft of a Blip I accepted the suggestion of Wylie's question marks hoping to get them at sunset but the breeze brought with it dark ominous clouds so no sunset, the light indeed flat and horrible as I walked the beach, I heard the clatter of the paddles of the Waverley which I shot in Paddle Power and with the question marks and the old girl I managed to salvage a mediocre shot to share.

I hope you enjoy the shot, it was the best I could manage today....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.