Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

OLDER THAN YOU

I usually hang around with people younger than me (well all the mums I meet up with are much younger) and Mr. HCB is still suffering the after effects of his horsefly bite, so wasn't keen on being blipped for the challenge I chose today in the HeartFreek July Photo Challenge, OLDER THAN YOU!

So, leaving Mr. HCB with his foot elevated, and sitting outside the beach hut, I walked along to Boscombe Pier and amazingly, there weren't that many people around, so here it is, in all its glory.

A pier was proposed in 1884 as a visitor attraction and was opened in late 1889. The pier was 200 yards (180 m) long, and built in spans of 13 yards (12 m) each with a continuous wrought iron girder frame, which carried timber decking 11 yards (10 m) wide. The pier head was 40 yards (37 m) long and 13 yards (12 m) wide, with a landing stage on each side, at which excursion steamers could call. At the entrance were two toll houses with turnstiles. In 2005 the pier was closed as it was deemed unsafe, but in 2008 it was reopened and in 2010 was named Pier of the Year in 2010.

Depending on the way the wind is blowing, it is lovely to sit on the pier, in a sheltered deck chair and have an ice cream cornet, just watching the world go by.

My thanks to everyone who looked at my 200th Birthday Blip yesterday, made comments and gave me stars and hearts - it hit the Spotlight and I actually saw it there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.