WHAT DOES AN RNLI LIFEGUARD DO.....

…..when he isn't "guarding lives"? Well, he washes down the front of the garage where they keep their vehicles, jetskis and other paraphernalia. Here is Chris, my favourite Lifeguard looking warmer than he did on the 1st April!

I was going to go for a walk this morning along the promenade, but it was so hot even at 8.30 a.m. that I decided just to go and sit in Urban Reef, chill out, read the papers and do some people-watching. I also had a Facebook chat with a friend in Australia - oh the wonders of modern technology - she also has an apartment here, so it was good to be able to take some photographs and show her what amazing weather we are having, even though she is thousands of miles away and was just about to go to bed!

I had a coffee, then treated myself to Eggs Florentine - and very nice they were too - my poached eggs never turn out quite like that - I obviously need to practice more, so when I have eventually got to grips with the Canon, that will be my next challenge!

Boscombe beach is packed today - it could almost be the Mediterranean! There are lots of school children obviously enjoying their last school outing for this term and I hope there won't be too many sore bodies at the end of the day, but I am now back inside, in the cool, and will probably go out for a walk later.

“If I ever stop challenging myself,
then I am getting lazy and comfortable
and I am no longer growing.
I hope to use life's challenges
as stepping stones to ever greater things.”
Roz Savage
Rowing the Atlantic: Lessons Learned on the Open Ocean


Maybe my challenge - or yours - isn't quite as daunting as Rowing the Atlantic, but whatever yours is, do it with all your heart and you will be surprised at what you can accomplish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.