Cley Hill (from over the barley field)

Cley hill, west of Warminster, Wiltshire, at 244m above sea level, stands up out like a sore thumb, especially considering the immediate surrounding area is about half that. I had been up the hill when I first bought my first digital SLR, almost five years ago and guessed it was high time I returned.

Considering that this was the last day forecast of bright dry and hot weather (thunder and rain coming in overnight) I was keen to get out early, not relishing the 4 mile walk each way from Warminster rail station in 30+ degree heat, that came later.

So left home at 6.30, this taken two hours later, on the way up the hill. There are a few poppies, here appearing black, in the growing barley. I was following a public footpath that just petered out, ending up in the middle of this field. The light was quite misty, with lots of haze, the polariser on the Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8 helping, then lots of selective added contrast after the black and white conversion.

Cley Hill is a natural hill, of chalk, that has been an iron age fort, has old agricultural strips carved into the slopes and chalk has been mined from one face. A large burial mound can be found on top. Six species of orchids grow there now. I shared my picnic spot on the top with a herd of cows. (I hope they appreciated the glorious 360 degree view! The National Trust now manage the site.

Look at the hill in LARGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.