An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Shooting from the Hip...

My first real attempt at Street Photography, or in this case, Market photography.

With sore peripheries to my lower limbs after yesterday's hot hike and with dull weather today, I didn't want to go far for my blip today.

With Tuesday being market day in Salisbury, I felt that I just had to shed to terror of casual people photography, out in the street. With a largish camera and being 6ft 2, I am never conspicuous at the best of times and being one of those who really prefers not to speak to anybody, things weren't going well. I shot a few in the normal way, one which could have made a blip but after switching to carrying my market-bought strawberries in a bag in my left hand, I had the right hand to reach down and manuoevre the camera, firing the shutter and hoping the AF was catching up!

Not only was this one level but is also uncropped. Not my greatest picture and thoughts of taking something quite different later abandoned as I really should say, this is what I tried, I did and hopefully I can do better next time. Because if I don't, there won't be a next time and I will never get over my phobia.

Yes, this might have worked in B&W too but I liked the colours and I did a mono yesterday. A lot of variable shadow distraction as the area below was very dark.

Lens was Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8

Thanks to all for getting my Cley Hill mono blip of yesterday up into the Spotlight - it's very much appreciated, as always.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.