Condiments

I've learned a lesson today. A valuable one at that.

I woke up groggy after a disturbed night. I went to a friend's house for breakfast (no cooking utensils left in 'my' house).

We mooched around for a while. Cousteau was fine. He was tired from last night's dramas, but welts had all gone and his breathing was back to normal. :)

We went to a friend's leaving bash for an hour or so. Cousteau came in to say goodbye and then when I took him back to the car, we sat in the back for a cuddle. Half an hour later, we were woken up. Oops.

Anyway, the lesson is that I stressed all weekend about moving my stuff to a friend's garage. I stressed that we wouldn't get it all on the trailer. I stressed that we would arrive too late and inconvenience my friend who was storing the stuff for me. I stressed that it was getting dark. I stressed that things would fall off the trailer. Well, you get the picture.

Once I saw it all stacked in the back of the farm building, looking very small and unimportant, I realised that all that energy I had expended had been a waste of time.

I HAVE to trust people when they say they don't mind. That they can do it. That I need to trust them. It's been so hard this past month or so, relying on the kindness of friends and of people who I hardly know. I have felt such love and such acceptance and I have fought it every step of the way. I have beaten myself up for taking charity, for not having much to give back right now. I have apologised and felt guilty and everyone has said the same thing. Don't worry about it, you need help right now and we want to give it to you. Just relax.

Okay, lesson learned. Thank you so much to everyone who has helped me and who continue to do so. Thank you for not requiring me to be perfect in return. Thank you for looking after me and my dog. Thank you for loving me and being such good friends. I will find a way to make it up to you but I'm not going to stress about that right now. I will accept your kindness with the same grace it offered with.

Thank you for the laughter and the encouragement. You're the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.