Beach Boy

A bit of Bembeya Jazz started the day. Breakfast toasted, duly forgotten and thrown to the birds. Such a beautiful place.

Then into town for Confession. My spiritual reboot, I guess. Makes me so much calmer and able to think clearly.

A spot of lunch at Hillyers. Yum.

Long walk on my beach with Cousteau. It was actually magical and we had a wonderful time, running, laughing (me), barking (him), stick throwing, dog chasing (him) and photo taking (me). I had heaps of photos to choose from, but somehow this one jumped out at me. We both miss our beach.

Then back to 'my' house to pack up some more stuff. Ran out of time to shift it today but nevermind.

I had tea with friends and then decided that Cousteau and I should have an early night. I was actually excited at the prospect of nine hours of sleep. We set up camp on the mattress in the living room, surrounded by boxes and fell asleep.

At around 1 am, Cousteau started scratching and carrying on. I told him to get back on his bed and to stop being silly. He wouldn't. I eventually turned the light on when he started crying. He was sitting on the top step, panting and whining. He was covered from snout to tail in welts. His breathing was shallow and he was obviously in discomfort.

There's no phone at the house and my cell phone was running low on battery. I found the number of the After Hours vet and called them. They suggested I bring him straight in. I did.

So, at 1.30 am, cold and in my pyjamas with a coat over the top, we set off.

Cousteau was obviously uncomfortable, but the cold air seemed to help his breathing, so all good.

I had just got into the 80 km zone when I saw a young man standing in the middle of the road, just staring blankly at the car. I swerved. I avoided him, I don't know how (must have been my Guardian Angel, or his). Cousteau hit the dash board and started whining again. I was completely freaked out. The lad just stood there, staring as I drove away. I think he must have been high on something.

My friend rang at that moment, having received a text saying I was taking Cousteau to the vet. He managed to calm me down enough to get to the vet.

Long story short. Cousteau played up for the vet nurse and got lots of treats and cuddles. Two injections and some Polaramine later, and he was right as rain.

My heart returned to its normal speed eventually.

No harm done. No one hurt. All okay.

Managed to get back to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.