Sands of time

My day was both productive and enjoyable. I woke up early, got a head start on my day. I drove to my sisters for our weekly workout, lunch and manicures. The workout was tough. I had skipped a couple of week with the horrible heat and you know the saying; 'Use it or lose it'. I had to work extra hard this week to get back on track. We did a lot of squats and other legwork and I was a little shaky when we were done.
We were cleaned up and drove over to the nail salon. We have regular appointments so I chose a color and headed over the massage chairs for my manicure first. It was heavenly. Sugar scrubs on our legs and feet, warmed honey and oil rub after that with a finished off with hot towels then one final massage of aromatherapy lotion that is massaged on our legs. All the while, the chair you are sitting in is massaging your back and neck. I felt well rewarded after my tough workout. Once finished, the woman offered to help me over to the nail dryers and she picked up my purse, cell phone and shoes. I went to get up to follow her and realized I was stuck! My workout and then resting for a while had my muscles stiff. I seriously had to take baby steps over to the drying station while my sister chuckled at my as she was still sitting in her chair. When I told her I couldn't walk, she said, "Good!!" Really? I didn't feel so good at that moment. I looked like a was walking with a load in my pants!! I could not bend my knees or squat and had to sort of shuffle over there. LOL Note to self* *Self, no more skipping workout classes until you are in tip top shape!!
Now, you are probably wondering about my Blip photo today. Well this little minute glass (actually 5 minute glass) is used by the women who, whilst you are sitting and drying your nails, will massage your neck and shoulders with some aromatherapy lotion until the last grain of sand runs through to the bottom of the glass. It is the BEST five minutes you could ever get. I close my eyes and totally relax. Breathing in the smell of lavender with deep long breaths. Occasionally I squint my eyes open just enough to see the glass and how much sand is left to go. It was the perfect way to end the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.