mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

Mumma watching the sun go down

Mum is here! So nice to have someone from home break into my little Corfu bubble and to show round my turf so to speak (St George definitely feels like mine in some capacity now).

After two morning welcome meetings (the second of which was attended by a gormless looking man who picked his nose throughout my entire presentation) I had an extended lunch break thanks to the lack of arrivals at my Andriana hotel, so mum and I hit the beach. Finished the book that I've been feverishly consuming and enjoyed the sunshine and company. I love that sunbathing is an almost daily option here.

After my evening hours mum and I went out for dinner, at a place I hadn't been to yet called San Carlos. We sat in their pretty garden, at a table looking out over the beach, with perfect timing to watch the sun cascade down into the sand dunes. It was a good one - the kind where the whole sun looks like an orb of fluorescent pinky-red and the whole sky turns peach coloured.

Here is mum watching it. She doesn't do posed pictures - she always end up talking or pulling a funny face so being caught unawares or asked to look at something is always a good option for her!

Had really yummy sea food spaghetti and chatted away with mum about life just past and life just coming into being. I think we've both consented that good things, many good things, have happened for me this year and that it's high time they did. I think mum took the brunt of the pain when I didn't get into university first time round - she'd wanted it for me so much and it was me that got on with things and had to tell her that it was ok and that I was fine and please stop worrying! It's nice that things have finally clicked into place without complication. It really does feel like a load of scattered puzzle peaces all slotting in together (except with space for more pieces because hey, I'm not done with making new pieces yet!)

A very nice evening and nice to have a proper chat over some yummy food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.