Photogen

By Photogen

Puffin' Along

Yesterday bicycles, today I'm still on a transport theme with road crossings. There are in the UK six different types of pedestrian crossings - manned school crossings, Zebra, Pelican, Puffin, Toucan and Pegasus crossings. This is a Puffin crossing standing for Pedestrian User-Friendly Intelligent crossing. It differs from a Pelican crossing (Pedestrian Light Controlled) which this design is now replacing, in that the lights controlling the pedestrians are on the same side of the road, rather than on the opposite side. Also censors can tell when everyone has crossed and only then change the traffic lights.

The system features a pair of poles, set diagonally to the road edge, each with a standard set of traffic lights facing oncoming traffic, push buttons and illuminated, coloured pictograms.

The one in this blip was installed quite recently, and I was thrown the first time I used it because I'd only used crossings where the 'green man' lit up on the other side of the road (Pelican). My brain was wired to see that 'Green man' over there!

I thought this would make a good blip, especially when I captured this white super-duper car. I think a few drivers thought I was a new form of human speed trap taking pictures as they whizzed past! I have applied a spherisize filter to give a very wide angle effect and an ink outline filter to make the whole image stylised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.