A bit of a surprise

On the corner of Grafton Road and Grafton Bridge is a large old (for New Zealand) house which has been refurbished relatively recently. It was too dark this morning to get a blippable picture of the house.

However, in the front yard, in the corner by the footpath is this sculpture in stainless steel which I have blipped once before, the photo taken in daylight. The carved wooden staff has come since then.

The surprise is not the sculpture itself. Nor the presence of the staff. What was surprising is the photo, as when I was there, and being in a bit of a hurry, I saw only the stainless steel. I did not see the patterns, and the colours. This is far more beautiful than what I expected to see when I downloaded the photo from the camera.

In the foreground is a sign advertising the presence of the Hum Cafe, still based in a shed like building on the edge of the property, and seen here on the left of the picture. The first time I saw this cafe, I doubted that it was actually a cafe. Since then I have seen it being very well patronised.

Well worth seeing large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.