Kawaupaka; Little Shag

Came back to the beach house today, having stayed in the city last weekend. Cloudy most of the day, especially in the morning.

Later this afternoon I went along the foreshore of our beach and around the point at the southern end of Snells Beach seeking bird photos. Started with kingfisher (kotare), then gulls (Tarapunga) and oystercatcher (Torea). Then I noticed what looked like a couple of shags on a couple of spiky rocks in the distance. I came closer and realised that indeed there were two on one large rock, and this one nearby on a seaweed covered rock. Nearby was another kotare. Close by were a solitary whitefaced heron and a moderately large group of Torea.

I'm finally getting fully relaxed about taking lots of pictures and I have chosen this one. I was very tempted by one of the two Kawaupaka next to each other. Especially as they show the variation of appearance. One is in the white throated phase, and the other is all black; it may be a juvenile. I have put it in my blipfolio if any bird lovers want a look.

On the way back to the steps to get back up the cliff, I saw a whole bunch of fast flying small birds whipping rapidly across exposed flat rocks covered with seaweed. These were feeding Welcome Swallows. I surprised myself by getting a blurred but recognisable photo of one zooming across in front of me.

More herons and another kotare, and it was time to climb the steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.