Morning Rise....

It was wonderful to be back at the beach for the sunrise, vibrant pink across the estuary, a little sea mist and a very gentle breeze.  

I paused and took in the view, filling my lungs with sea air and listening to the call of the sea. As the tide was in I stomped through pine trees, up and down sand dunes as if I was on a mission. The sea was roaring while the waves engulfed driftwood and tree stumps before pulling back stones and shells as it receded - it was deafening to my ears. The pink sunrise had now turned golden as the sun tried to break through the clouds. I strolled along the beach stopping for some shots and nearly got caught in the waves. I could see someone doing Tai Chi at the river mouth, some surfers were out in the waves while others were striding it out. Perched on top of a sand dune I took in the expansive view with clouds rolling out to meet the Pacific Ocean.

A New Zealand Fur Seal had come ashore sunbathing in what little sun there was, shags were flying out to sea while little banded dotterels were fossicking amongst driftwood for their morning tucker. Oyster catchers and terns could be seen at the river mouth while the calls of Canada geese echoed out to sea but not many gulls around today.

I spent just under three hours at the beach, it was the rumble of no morning tea which had me thinking it was time to leave.

I was delighted yesterdays macro hit the spotlight page, warm thanks to everyone for your comments, stars and fav's :)

Must fly now as my meatballs are ready to come out of the oven, hope your all enjoying a great weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.