Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Gatekeeper

Thunder, lightning and heavy rain during yesterday evening and during the night, but today it is warm and sunny again although it is a little windy.

The Peacock butterflies were out again today and there were about a dozen on the Buddleia. I took several photographs, although there was too much wind for them to be as sharp as I wanted. In the end I chose this one, which is a Gatekeeper Pyronia tithonus. It was feeding on mint flowers and was chosen because of the sun shining through its wings and because it was a different species. I also took a picture of a camouflaged Speckled Wood Pararge aegeria, which can be seen in my Blipfolio.

Formula one this afternoon from Hungary, but I can only watch the highlights this evening as for some reason we are unable to get the Germany TV channel that I usually watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.