Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PETALS

We used to sing a song at church when I was much younger, "I'm not ashamed to own my Lord" and I am certainly not ashamed to say that I am a Christian - and that is probably obvious to most of you who have subscribed to my journal.

We decided to go to the Salvation Army this morning, before Mr. HCB heads off back home to look after the garden for a few days, and on the way, I saw this poster, which invites passers-by to Discover Jesus this summer, and if you look very carefully, you will see some beautiful Hollyhock PETALS, one of the few remaining words in the HeartFreek July Photo Challenge, although it wasn't actually on the poster, but was growing just in front of it.

We enjoyed the service and it was good to praise God with the Boscombe Corps Band playing to accompany the singing. I must admit though, that they seem to sing everything at double speed, so sometimes it is a job to get all the words in!!

The service was led by the youth from the Salvation Army and the theme was "Everything to God in Prayer", a line from the hymn "What a Friend we have in Jesus."

The band played played a piece entitled "From Earth's Confusion to Deepest Rest", which was beautiful and the Songsters sang their hearts out - so all in all a great service and we were well looked after by Rose, a lovely lady who has taken me under her wing whenever I attend, so I sit with her each time I go.

This version of the hymn doesn't have a band to accompany it, but hope you enjoy it - and I'm sure for some of you it will bring back memories!

Have a great week and be blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.