NellyO

By NellyO

Today's reading

Today is definitely a day for staying indoors and reading! It seems to have stopped raining for now, but looking at the clouds I'm not convinced that's it for the day, so I'm staying firmly ensconced indoors!

Although I have long periods where I'm not reading much at all, when I do I often have several books on the go at the same time (usually non-fiction, although I do have an Agatha Christie on the go at the moment as well), so if I'm not in the mood for one book then there is usually another one that suits better. I'm really enjoying this one at the moment - the author used to be the head of RSPB Wales, and has travelled all over the world over the years, looking at bird and other animal/plant colonies. Each of the 20 chapters here covers a different island, looking at its history of human contact/habitation, past and current flora and fauna. It's absolutely fascinating, and has introduced me to a number of islands that I'd never heard of before. Recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.