DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Single Accomodation

I left work a little early today and went for a short walk...on my own! Jake was a little miffed that I left him behind but I had taken no images all day and this was the only solution.

I had in mind that I would go down to the lake and watch the Ibis come in to roost for the night, even though I knew the iphone couldnt capture them very well in flight I still thought I would give it a try, might be lucky and get one good shot. Just as I originally expected after about 30 shots I gave up.

Walking back I noticed quite a few of these wonderful cocoons and they stood out strikingly on the white wall. Such intricate little bags of twigs, so artisically made and quite amazing!

I tried to find some information about them and all I came up with was that its a Psychidae Case Moth's cocoon and it is colloquially called a 'bag moth' and that there are many types. I think this one is indigenous to Southern Western Australia but there was very little information available.

I do remember them from my childhood but I havent seen one for years so it felt quite special to see them again and have them nearby, I'll keep my eye on them and see what develops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.