Photogen

By Photogen

Rosebay Willowherb

Today has been a mix of sunshine and thunder-plumps. I thought it would be interesting to capture the predominantly glowering sky. Then I spotted this expanse of willowherb growing profusely on some spare ground close by. It seemed to offer the perfect colourful foreground foil to the green fields and hills in the distance. I've also managed to catch a little white butterfly which flitted into the frame as I pressed the shutter!

I think the willowherb is quite early this year as I always associate it with the end of the school holidays, and the dispersal of the willowherb seeds. The fruit is a slender cylindrical capsule containing the seeds embedded in fine, soft silky fluff. These can be seen blowing in the wind in huge clusters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.