Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The warm afterglow (aka "close to crashing ou

I've had one of those days where I say I've been breaking eggs with sticks. Very busy and lots achieved, but nearly didn't manage all the bits I needed to.

There was a lot of festival stuff to do this morning, including writing a new press release about the opening of bookings next week. The printed programme had to be corrected and photos added before it goes to print (always an anxious moment). Then I did a big shop for all the food we needed for tonight when 5 friends came for a meal and to see photos from Bulgaria.

I also rushed to the hospital to see JK, a friend who was admitted as an emergency at the weekend, only to be told he had been discharged home. This reminds me a of a true story from the late 70s when I lived in Southampton and was part of the Methodist community there. Two elderly ladies visited a friend in hospital to be told she had "gone home". They duly reported to all and sundry that she had died, since "going home" was a common euphemism for going to heaven!

Back to today - I thought I could just make it, but had to ask our guests to come 15 mins later than planned. One lot came a bit early and I had just stepped out of the shower and had to throw on my clothes to greet them. All good fun.

We had a great evening. There is food left over for whoever wants to come and share it with us tomorrow.........

One glass of white wine remained in the bottle - so I poured it, blipped it and drank it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.