LindaCh

By LindaCh

Facing my fear and doing it anyway.

Today's blip was a personal challenge for me. Now I am not a wimpy girl who runs away from anything larger than a pin head, and I have spent many many years living in Africa where I have faced some horrible critters! But this specimen has been my feared enemy since I was a child when of one of my many brothers used to chase me with one and try to put it down the front of whatever I was wearing.
As I grew older I continued to be afraid of this out of control flying monster.
I remember getting home after a teenage night out to find there was one clumsily flying around my room - it was quite late (couldn't call for help) so I pulled my mattress onto the landing and slept there - giving my room up to the conquering beast!!

So today this was sitting on my kitchen worktop - I had to get close as I do not have any fancy lenses - my hands were shaking - but what a contest - my desire for a good shot over my fear of it suddenly flying at me. This is the result.
I hoped this blip would act as therapy and I would now be fearless when faced with this harmless long legged fly. But sadly not - my illogical fear must be deep rooted indeed.

I am of course feeling very proud of my bravery :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.