The second half of life..

By twigs

Collingwood

I've taken the opportunity to come over to my favourite place in this world for potentially the last time. Pakawau campground at the northern end of the beautiful Golden Bay, is due to close in about 10 days time. This is the place I have referred to in the past as 'my beach house'.....

The campground itself was bought by an American developer about 3 years ago. I was shocked to find after the purchase that he had plans to tear the campground down and put up, in its place, 50 units as part of an exclusive holiday resort complex.

Now, for those of you who don't know this neck of the world, Golden Bay is about as far removed from the rest of NZ as NZ is removed from the rest of the world. Pakawau - the campground in question - is the second (thanks hpx!) furthest north campground in this part of the world. This area is home to the the world renown Farewell Spit (the world's longest natural sand bar) and home to thousands of migratory birds. To me, the campground serves as a vital part of the community - it offers tourists a place to stay over the busy summer months as they explore this unique part of New Zealand which of course keeps the local tourist economy ticking over.

To cut a long story short, the developer in question finally withdrew his plans for the development earlier this month after it became clear that the locals were objecting in (proportionately!) huge numbers. Then the bombshell - he announced last week that the campground and store will close too. And where is this money-laden, money grabbing developer whilst the lives of many locals are being thrown into turmoil? Nowhere to be found on these shores. Apparenly back in the US, although no-one knows where nor when/if he'll return.

So here I am for the last time in my gorgeous little corner of the world.......

I'm going to miss coming over to my beach house/my getaway/my escape from the world so very much..... I can only hope that the powers that be conspire somehow to ensure it reopens at some stage. I'm thinking positive thoughts........

By the way, the picture is of Collingwood, a tiny settlement now but once considered as the capital of New Zealand. How very different Golden Bay would have been if that had eventuated! The drive to Pakawau takes you past Collingwood, which will now be the nearest place that locals from Pakawau and Puponga can go to get a quick loaf of a pint of milk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.