The second half of life..

By twigs

Farewell Spit

Although it's the middle of winter I slept last night with the window wide open just so I could hear more clearly the sound of the waves along the beach and feel a light breeze on my face. It was beautiful.

I lay in bed after waking, again listening to the waves........then to the rain.......then to the thunder! As the storm blew in and settled in I figured that was my signal to snuggle into some reading, thinking, figuring and just enjoying being here for the last time.

By mid afternoon it was clear enough to head on out so I took a walk up Pillar Point for a fabulous 360 degree view of the northern end of Golden Bay. This shot is of Farewell Spit, home (in the summer) to thousands of migratory birds, and final resting place to dozens if not hundreds of stranded whales. They often get caught out by the shallow waters of the inner Spit and whole schools of them strand themselves. For lots of reasons the Spit feels like a deeply spiritual place.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.