Home Alone

The kittiwake babies at Dunbar Harbour are old enough now that their parents leave them whilst they go fishing (for sandeels). This colony on Dunbar Castle is probably closest to people and certainly the easiest to see, others are all around the coastal cliffs and islands.

I spent some of the morning watching the scene and waiting for this chap to stick his head out, ideally situated with the colourful boats in the harbour behind. The sun came out, he stuck his head out and an adult few by. Snap!

Some more from today on Flickr.

Katie was at her Art Camp and Gordon had gone swimming with his brothers. Like the kittiwakes, he's old enough now to be unaccompanied and this was his first swim without me. Nothing to worry about, "I'm level 5 Dad!" The excellent free-kids-swimming-all-summer policy helps too...

In other news, I'm still trying to get my stolen-and-found bag and its contents back from Northumbria Police, who appear to regard my desire to be reunited with my stuff as a major inconvenience. Things were eased along when none other than P.C. Ritchie walked up to me outside Dunbar Swimming Pool and said, "what a small world it is!" I last saw P.C. Ritchie at 2.30AM on Saturday in Alnwick after he had taken a statement from me and driven me back to my B&B. He was off-duty and out with his children today, he's back at work tomorrow and he'll call me. I wish he'd brought my bag to Dunbar today though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.