The things we keep

It's funny the things we keep, that move around with us as we live in different places. This little guy is a troll that I must have bought on a childhood trip to Norway. As I write this, I'm not sure exactly when that would be, but it would have to be sometime in the 1970s. As I was growing up family holidays more times than not were in Scandinavia. Denmark was the first choice - my Dad even did Danish evening classes in the winter - but we did go to Norway a couple of times. Once to Oslo on something of a mini-tour of the Baltic when we went to Denmark, Norway and Sweden (and then back to Denmark again). Which I think would have to have been 1973 - forty years ago. And then a couple for years later we went to Bergen. I'm guessing this must be a souvenir of that trip. And since then he's been boxed up and moved with me and currently lives in our kitchen dresser. Moved him briefly onto the window sill for some better lighting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.