Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mundane

Hello! This is ME! Carrying the laundry back from the big tumble dryers they have onsite here. I'm walking past the big green where they have some of the biggest and poshest lodges (NOT ours).

For the first time ever, G & I are here for over 6 days continuous which means that bedding and towels have to be washed! (I should take the opportunity here to thank my faithful friend Eileen who normally does this for us!)

Today we ventured into Aldershot to find Baileys Cheesecake in Iceland have a mooch around. It is the place where G was born. She's an army kid. Found our way straight into another Mall(!!) Wellington Shopping Centre which is right in the centre of town, has cheap easy parking and all the shops you could want including an M&S Outlet store! Found Iceland no problem AND they had the cheesecake... first time I've seen it in stock since December - so bought two. I LOVE the supermarket shopping here - Dubai has nothing like it!

Back to the Lodge to finish said laundry and enjoy some of the stuff we bought from Iceland. Apologies to my non-Christian blip buddies now, but I am going to do a Honeycombebeach and get a little philosophical!

My title today is from a line in a Sara Groves (surprise!) song called Kingdom Comes... a song I love from an album that would definitely be one of my Desert Island Discs.

In the mundane tasks of living
In the pouring out and giving
In the waking up and trying
In the laying down and dying


Full lyrics here. If you'd like to hear the song... click here.

I think we all like to make something of our day and each moment count when really, we just need to get on with things - even the mundane, and just honour God in all we do.

I am actually looking forward to seeing the sun again tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.