Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Masses Of Wild Flowers

I was amazed to see this spread of wild flowers along the edge of a field like a thick,blue carpet. It wasn't mixed with the crop, it formed a border, maybe 15' deep a few yards away from the fence.

I found myself unable to identify this wild flower. From a distance though colour was like Eryngium or Scabious but when I got up to them they reminded me of Vetch. However the leaves didn't have tendrils on the ends and the flowers were short with their stamens extending beyond the petals giving a fluffy look.

The nearest thing I've found in my flora books is Tufted Vetch but I don't think thats right. I'll maybe ask another blipper if they would kindly take a look.

Anyone else know? The location is Cumbria and the habitat is damp.

EDIT: TonyG got it straight away. It isn't native so no wonder I couldn't find it my British wild flower books. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.