Two in the Hedge

More correctly on the shelf. I think these feathered individuals may have been on the shelf for quite a long time. I think they might be left overs from Easter.

The other day the BBC magazine web site posed the question "Should you even take a camera on holiday". In my case the answer is no, not a camera, instead I usually take two, a DSLR and a compact, and of course there is a third in the phone, but that really is for "emergencies" only, even if it does take quite good pictures.

The BBC's point was "The ultimate argument against photographing most things on holiday is that someone else has already done a better job. We've seen what the Taj Mahal is like. The reality is when you get there there's another 500 people trying to photograph it as well."

There is some truth to this, it is difficult to get a photograph better than the post cards on sale in the shop. I have been known to buy the postcard (especially arial views) and scan them into the computer. Even for ground level views, the professional has a chance to visit when the public is not around.

During my recent tour of England a friend heard me complaining about too many tourists getting in the way. He pointed out that we were tourists also. However neither he nor I were getting in the way of my photograph, and so we were not the subject of my complaint.

Today I have taken this to heart. No picture of an old farmhouse on Culloden Moor, no view of Union Street or the City Hall. Instead some old birds in John Lewis waiting for a customer to buy them. The fact it was pouring with rain outside had nothing to do with the choice of an indoor subject for my Blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.