Tightly Packed

I've been to the allotment today on a harvesting mission and to do a little tidying. Unfortunately everything was at it's best last week when we were on holiday and now the peas are going over (there will be plenty of see peas for next year), the broad beans are almost at the same stage, the remaining cabbages are fat to bursting and the black Kale is just about to flower. Last year it was too wet and cold, this year too warm (and wet now) :(

I came back with the very last of the strawberries, a few gooseberries from a neighbours plot (he'd said I could have some), the greenest peas I could find, broad beans, courgettes (one more marrow than courgette) and a half sack full of weeds - there are plenty more!

I've also done some cutting back of dead, straggly and out of control vegetation in our front garden this afternoon, which was in the shade so not too bad. The bonus from the afternoon was disturbing two frogs, one large and one medium size. Maybe we'll have frog spawn in the pond again next year.

Before leaving the allotment I had a wonder around with my camera and the occupant of one of the bottom plots had four amazing sunflowers looking at their very best which has provided me with today's blip - I love the patterns.

Oh and today's been Yorkshire day (in Yorkshire) and the hottest of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.