hpx

By hpx

Girl with a blue balloon

I think it was a 21st birthday balloon. I was lucky enough to catch her raise it briefly above her head.

I love their shadows and this is the only time the mass of drab grey paving between the library and Registry building looks remotely good.

If the moon had been visible today I would have blipped it. I was a little girl, not long at school and remember my class sitting on the mat listenning to the first men land on the moon.

Even more I remember walking home from school and looking at the moon right there and visible and knowing they were up there.

Later as a family we stood out on the terrace in the dark and looked at the moon, marvelling that people had actually landed on it. As the youngest I didn't always have a strong grasp on the difference between reality and imagination and came out with one of (many) famous lines where I reduced everyone to gales of laughter. I proudly announced I could see the flag on the moon! (Apparently the flag fell over when the landing craft took off but that didn't come out until many years later).

I'm running a little late tonight and may not get to commenting. Thanks for your many kind and encouraging comments over the past couple of days. Today I've done ok with the thought that there is no point worrying over what I can't control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.