A deal with the devil...

Yet again another day at the fringe. I fear I may be waning slightly now though! An evening home with my boy should sort me right out.

My days viewing was half the number of shows I saw on Thursday and Friday. It included:

1. 11.00 Pleasance Press Launch. A chance to see a taster of some of the offerings this year from the Pleasance. I'd already seen some of the shows that featured here. One that really stood out that I haven't seen was Missing by Gecko Theatre. I must try and see the full show!

2. 16.00 Melmoth the Wanderer (pictured). A dark, gothic play where Melmoth is a distraught, tormented soul, condemned to relive his terrible story for eternity after making a deal with the devil. It was very well done indeed, had a puppet cameo (not as good as B&S yesterday) and was a refreshing change to everything else I'd seen.

3. 17.50 Slightly Fat Features. Friends saw this the other day and said it was good, after a wee preview at the launch show, I wasn't convinced. I was given a complimentary ticket so I went. It was a mediocre piss-take of a variety show that I didn't like at all. I pretended I was rushing to another show to get away - I just couldn't bear to see what the finale would be.

Things that I have learned so far:

* There are a lot of complimentary tickets out there to expensive shows, sometimes it's just a case of asking.
* You can see some wonderful shows, but through laws of averages, you'll also see some terrible ones.
* Trust your instincts when choosing a show.
* Just because your friends like it, doesn't mean you'll think its good.

I will be back tomorrow - I think I'll try to get comp Gecko Theatre tickets. Wish me luck!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.