Meadow Brown

My butterfly blips are like London buses. You can wait all year, then two come along at once. I enjoyed collecting them yesterday so much, we went to spot a few more in Wisley this morning. This afternoon I've been identifying them. I think we've seen 10 different ones in the past two days including one or two (like this Gatekeeper I loaded on to iSpot)that were new for me.

I've mentioned iSpot before. If you're a UK blipper and you want to identify any critter or vegetation you've photographed, iSpot is a great way to do so.

I need to write a blog now about RHS Wisley. It's a great garden but the people that run it are ruining it by staging ever more desperate attempts to get people through the turnstiles. Wisley is a plant collection. It's a garden. It's not a theme park. But just now they have a so-called scarecrow show. So dummies in silly costumes have been "planted" everywhere. Today the fragrance of the flowers was ruined by the smell of burgers from a barbecue they'd plonked on the lawns. There should be a law against it. I'm almost cross enough to write a letter to the Daily Telegraph.

Oh bloody hell, I just searched the keywords Wisley and scarecrow and what do I get! Sorry Sue! Sorry Jan! Popular blip too. OK, so I'm getting to be an old curmudgeon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.