Moschops goes over the Rainbow Bridge

Sitting by the side of the stream on a park bench, gathering my thoughts about Moschops' death (I had her in my carry-case after a sad visit to the vet), one of her fellow rodents popped his head out of the vegetation. A lady had just passed with bread to feed the coots. She and I had a chat as I was obviously a bit sad. I was thankful for the kind blether.

I knew something wasn't right with Moschops yesterday as she wasn't her usual cheery self and wanted to be on her own. This morning, she really wasn't well at all and was cuddled right up to Big Sid and Sybil, but quite lethargic and cold. I now know from the vet that the cold was shock as she was in pain. Her behaviour mirrored that of Truffle before she died a couple of years ago, and I knew what was coming. After a huge dithering about whether or not to take her to the vet (weighing up the journey and prodding against staying at home with the other gps and dying in peace) and having panicky chats with the very patient receptionist at the vet, Moschops started moving and I knew that I had to go to the vet to help her if she was in any pain. So I grabbed a taxi and we drove the hour to the gp vet who rushed her in, but there was nothing that could be done for the old lady except hasten the inevitable. I was in bits, even though I knew it was coming. Fred rang at the very moment of death and we chatted through it with the very patient vet on hand.

I will remember Moschops for:
- always giving good paws when asked so I could lift her up
- her love of carrots and leaves and celery
- being able to climb steps and hide under the bed
- climbing to the highest spot so she could keep look-out
- holding her own over bossy gps
- being quite independent
- her rabbit-like face
- a great companion to all
- running out of the kitchen door into the garden when Fred was on his own in the flat and he had to race out after her (she gave good paws and came back in without a problem)
- jumping over obstacles
- her slight mohican
- her hiccups
- making a nest
- her adventuring
And much, much more. She was one unique character!

I miss her. I hope she's scampered over the Rainbow Bridge to a land of plentiful vegetables, where the sun always shines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.