Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

E is for EBB

There is something about standing on the beach, with the wind whipping your hair, salt spray all over your glasses, watching the waves come pounding in, and hearing the sand and pebbles being pulled down and dragged back into the sea as the waves recede. I will certainly miss all this when we go home next weekend.

I love walking along the beach, feeling the sand between my toes and then letting the sea wash my feet clean and today was no exception, even though it was quite cold in the wind and the sea was decidedly chilly.

I wanted think "outside the box" again and find a word beginning with E for the ALPHABET CHALLENGE and as we are near the sea, this one popped into my head - EBB - the flowing back of the tide as the water returns to the sea.

Then I remembered a quote by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow - but didn't know it was from a poem he had written:

Loss and Gain

When I compare
What I have lost with what I have gained,
What I have missed with what attained,
Little room do I find for pride.

I am aware
How many days have been idly spent;
How like an arrow the good intent
Has fallen short or been turned aside.

But who shall dare
To measure loss and gain in this wise?
Defeat may be victory in disguise;
The lowest EBB is the turn of the tide.

Don't think we will see much sun today, but there is still beauty in a wild sea so no doubt I shall go out there again after lunch!

For to us a child is born.......
.....And he will be called
Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God,
EVERLASTING Father, Prince of Peace.
Isaiah 9:6
New International Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.