Photogen

By Photogen

Advancing weather front

Today I'd been for a walk in Mugdock Park and pictured some attractive wild meadows, and on the way photographed a field bursting with shorn ewes and their fully grown lambs. So I thought I was all set to choose a blip from this selection.

However about 6 pm the sun broke through the hazy cover and blue sky appeared in the north west. To the south east a weather front was building. It is unusual to experience warm sunshine streaming down and simultaneously have these ominous-appearing clouds over the city.

They look to me like the cloud type designated by meteorologists recently as ‘Undulus Asperatus’ - a Latin term meaning 'turbulent undulation'. Turbulent motions between differing air masses create these formations. It looks very threatening, but they broke up without actually turning into a storm. Anyway it looked interesting enough for me to change my plans and publish the weather front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.