Cox's Bay Sunset

The effects of travelling to and from Melbourne, involving an early start on Sunday and a very late finish on Monday (actually early hours of Tuesday) resulted in unwillingness to get up for a morning run. Managed the locum duties alright and got home early enough to take a run across to Cox's Bay.

Timed my arrival almost to perfection. I had arrived only three minutes before I took this photo, and actual sunset was one minute later.

I have had to think hard about which photo to blip today. I was really happy with a picture of customers sitting outside an "eatery and bar" on Jervois Road, on my way to Cox's Bay. I was urged by Young L and dear S to post my first picture on arrival at the Bay; a heron in silhouette.

The bar and eatery doesn't grab MY attention as much as those by the bay so I dismissed that option. The heron was another matter. There is quite a lot of early sunset colour, including one bit of water catching the light as a result of the heron's movement. S particularly liked the jetty which is connected to one of the rowing club sheds. I think that it has a lovely ambience (have a look in my blipfolio if you are interested).

However, I went with this, mainly because this was in my mind as to why I wanted to be at Cox's Bay at the moment of sunset. The photo was shortly before the sun disappeared, and my photo included the sun and a bright swathe of light across the water. I decided to crop out the sun and its track (and also some of the higher clouds) in order to make the focus the trimaran (and a monohull yacht which is moored behind it).

Larger here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.