The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Waiting

The little spider had spun her web overnight, and there it was, pristine and brightly illuminated by a shaft of early morning sunshine against a deeply shaded background as Gus and I descended off Arnside Knott to the gate from Redhills Wood onto Silverdale Road.

The joy of blipping is the unexpected, the unplanned moment when you simply stumble across something. Until I had nearly finished my walk I had barely taken a photograph, I had gone out half an hour too late to enjoy the dawn, and nothing else really caught my eye. In any event I was in a rush as I needed to be in work early. It wasn't until after I had taken the photo that I spotted the spider waiting for something to blunder into her trap.

We are getting into the spider high season, they and their webs are growing bigger and more conspicuous.

This was definitely the highlight of the day. It went downhill from there, and back uphill again as I got home later. The works on the house are going well, and with any luck we will have our space back and everything will be up and running by the end of tomorrow. Time now for Gus's walk, then back to catch up with comments later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.