ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Redrock.

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW400CN, ISO 400

M and I had a really long lie today - I think his body clock is still a bit battered after Cyprus/America, but I've no idea what my excuse is. Once we were up and dressed, we headed out to the garden to pick fruit - the sun was out and we took the radio with us, so we spent a lovely hour or two out there and by the end we had 1.35 kilos of gooseberries, 750g raspberries and a punnet of loganberries to show for it.

We head leftovers for lunch before heading out to the shops to buy some jam jars, then decided to make the most of the sun and do a bit of fishing. We scrambled down the cliffs at Redrock to a spot that no-one else had managed to get to (without M's help, I definitely wouldn't have managed the climb down, either), then set ourselves up with a cup of coffee and our rods. M was targetting mackerel but I was going for a cod... Unfortunately nothing was biting but it was a nice chilled-out way to spend the afternoon.

When we got home, M's Mum invited us for tea, so I offered to make pudding. I made a beautiful gooseberry pie with some of the fruit from this morning - I often struggle with pastry but it looked very pretty by the time I'd finished, with an egg glaze and tiny little leaves all the way round (to hide one minor hole)... When I got it out of the oven I was delighted for approximately 10.2 seconds, before I accidentally tipped it onto the worktop and smashed it. Arrrrrrrrgh!! So unnecessary. Given that I'd promised a pudding to M's Mum, I had to take it round anyway and managed to see the funny side when even a swooping seagull on our walk down the road didn't fancy a bite. M's Mum was very sympathetic, and it did taste pretty good anyway! It should have been my Blip for today, though...

We had a really nice BBQ cooked by M's Dad, then a nice long soak in the hot tub as it got dark. We pottered home at 11pm, tired and warm, ready for just collapsing into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.