ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Leopard Skin.

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW400CN, ISO 400

Mum and Dad were heading off today, but before they left we managed to have a really nice breakfast (courtesy of Mum), and while they were packing I baked a cake for Dad's birthday (yesterday)! We'd hoped to have a walk on the beach before they left but Dad was anxious to leave so we'll have to do it next time.

As Mum and Dad left, E arrived as we'd offered her a lift to Aboyne Games with us, where we were going to meet E's sister and the A, S and F family :o) We'd arrived at lunchtime so the first thing we did was get a burger and sit on the grass to munch it - yum. We started to wander round and luckily bumped into our little group fairly quickly... Phone issues had meant that our rendezvous was a little trickier to organise than it should have been! M wanted to sit in the stands and watch the action from the main ring, so we left him there while we looked for a suitable ride for an 18-month-old in the carnival section. There were a few we thought F might have liked, but he'd have definitely needed Mum or Dad with him to help (bouncy castles with huge slides, a merry-go-round) - unfortunately the guys running the events weren't keen on letting A or S in, so in the end entertainment was found at the adjacent park. With S and F occupied on the swings and M still watching the main arena, us girls headed off for a wander, and promptly found a fudge stall. Some time later, a bit sticky and full, I made my way back to M and we sat and watched the hammer throw, weight over a bar and caber tossing. All very good fun, and with a pipe band playing in the background, a dance competition going on at the end of the arena and the finish line for the cross-country race just along from our spot, there were loads of things to watch.

At the end of the day I left M once more for a quick walk around the carnival to try and get some photos. I ended up with this one of a drummer; his leopard skin is to protect both the drum and the uniform he wears. The amber eyes of the leopard over his shoulder made me double-take; then I noticed the can of irn-bru in his hand and had to take his photo. I did go over afterwards to chat to him, but the music from the ride behind him drowned us both out so I have no idea what his name was.

When the games had finished, we all decamped back to A and S's and myself, A and E all headed upstairs to look at our bridesmaid dresses that had arrived. They fitted us perfectly, and we also helped A back into her wedding dress again to assess what needed to be done with the length of it. I really need to lose some weight before the wedding, so when M and I got home we made a really healthy tea; I'll be starting up my gym sessions again next week, too. With holidays and Mum and Dad's visit I've been eating whatever I want, so I'm sure I'll be grumpy for a little while as I'm getting used to salad again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.