ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Gooseberry Jam.

Pentax K1000, colour film, ISO 400

Slooooooooooow day today. I have a lot to do on my post-it note (yes, my filing system could perhaps be updated), but all of it is waiting on information from clients; I am unwilling to take on other projects because I just know the second I do, all the information will come flooding in! After limping along doing bits and bobs, I headed home to an absolute bomb-site of a kitchen (after pie-gate yesterday I'd not felt like clearing up the sticky mess on the worktop, the flour on the floor or the crusty pie tin). I managed to get most of it sorted before M arrived home, and together we cooked a really nice risotto for tea.

After a catch-up call with Mum and a bit of mindless TV, I decided to get on and make jam with the remaining 850g of gooseberries we'd picked from the garden yesterday. I've never made jam before, so I was pretty horrified by the amount of sugar that had to go in - I was glad I'd bought the half-calorie stuff otherwise I might have felt too guilty to eat it when it was made!

When it was happily wrinkling on a cold plate, M helped me ladle it into two kilner jars (a little bigger than would be perfect for jam jars, but we couldn't get any at the last minute) and I stuck a couple of labels on. I was so proud of myself... But I'll have to wait until the morning to see whether it cools into a good consistency or not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.