stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Eureka!

Eureka Flag, Ballarat, Victoria

The rains returned today with a vengeance. My planned wander around the lower level trails was put aside and I just decided on a visit to the Brambuk Cultural Centre. It was both an informative and somber time. In addition to the great pride in the aboriginal culture of Victoria, there remains a bitterness over the injustices that both early European and British settlers followed by successive Australian governments have levelled against them. I didn't know that it was only as recently as 1967 that aboriginal natives were recognised as citizens of Australia. Hopefully the acts that began to be enforced from the mid-80's will start to redress in some way the wrongs that have occurred in the past.

I started on the road again, hoping that the weather in Ballarat would be a little drier. No joy. I did take a wander round the town, along Sturt and Lydiard Streets. Some of the old buildings there are magnificent and I'm hoping tha the sun will be out tomorrow morning so I can get an opportunity to shoot them. It was too wet for the camera but it did dry off for a short spell and I went down the road to shoot a couple of shots.

This is the Eureka Flag. The design was first used for the war flag of the Eureka Rebellion of 1854 at Ballarat. Rebels swore an oath to the flag as a symbol of defiance at its first flying at Bakery Hill and 22 were killed at the Eureka Stockade defending the original flag.

The wet weather isn't a bad thing really. I'm suffering a little from yesterday's exertions. A wee bit achy and a wee bit tired. I've been really lucky in that I don't think I've really suffered much in the way of jet lag but I think the early mornings and driving are beginning to take effect. So today is now officially a day of rest. It's Friday night, so I'm going to get a carry out (I'm thinking Japanese just now). The St. Kildare vs Hawthorn match is on live so I'm just going to sit in front of the telly and watch the footie then get an early night.

Fingers crossed the sun returns tomorrow. If it does, a wee tour of the town centre with the camera before visiting Sovereign Hill. If not, then, hmmmm... Dunno! :-) Either way, I'll be in Melbourne again tomorrow evening for my last night in Victoria.

Yesterday's back blip.

Go Hawks! :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.