stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

There's Gold in them there hills!

Campsite, Red Hill Gully Diggings, Sovereign Hill, circa 1851

My final day in Victoria began with the sun streaming through the windows, so off I trotted into the town centre with the camera to shoot a few of the historical buildings I had seen in my rain soaked wander last night. It's amazing how quickly this place dries up. It was still cool though so the jumper stayed on as I headed down Bakery Hill and up Sturt Street. A lot of the towns I passed through on my road trip still have an old town feel about them, with their cast iron verandas and walkways in front of the shops. It's not something I've seen before but I liked it and wished that I could have done the sights some justice, but alas I think not. Both Sturt Street and adjoining Lydiard Street are crammed full of the most wonderful Victorian and Edwardian architecture. The six lane wide thoroughfare of Sturt Street also contains a central garden where statues to and presented by the good and the great reside alongside the war memorials commemorating the conflicts in which Australian forces have taken part. Time was pressing however, as I'd hoped to have done this wander last night and so I departed, knowing I could have lingered longer. It was to be a theme for the day, but that's what happens when you try to fit in a day and a half into a day! :-)

Next stop was the Eureka Stockade museum, M.A.D.E. A relatively new and wonderfully interactive experience, telling the story of the bloody 1854 revolt that lead to the provision of miners rights and some say, the start of independence itself for Australia. The main cause of the uprising was of course their lack of rights and corrupt administration of the mining areas, but it came as no surprise to learn that one of the final straws resulted from the murder of a Scotsman outside a pub where he allegedly broke a window and that the revolt was led by an Irishman. You just gotta love the Celtic charm! The history itself is well recorded in Government reports and diaries from those that were there but there is definitely a measured approach in telling this is made and all the memorials to the slain account for losses on both sides. The question over whether armed revolt was necessary is still debated on both sides, but the fact that it had an impact is not in doubt. Trails acquitted 13 men, some of whom weren't actually at the stockade on the day in question and subsequent investigations by the Crown uncovered large irregularities in the operation of the mining licences. Not long after, the mining right was introduced which allowed the miners to build a house on their land and gave them a vote. Touching a little on yesterdays blip, in light of the fact that this didn't include women or aboriginal people, the museum continues to tell of their individual plights. The museum also includes areas to encourage discussion on a much wider scale with regards the likes of the use and abuse of power, the power of both written and spoken word, censorship and propaganda. Of course, centre stage goes to the original Eureka Flag under which the miners swore their oaths to win their rights. All in all a very interesting place and one which would provide a very interesting education for adult and child alike.

My final stop before leaving Ballarat was to the Sovereign Hill living museum. I could have spent all day here. Such a wonderful experience and as it was, in the three hours I spent here I still didn't cover all the ground. The museum is split into several areas, each depicting an aspect of the mining process and living conditions through the Golden age of the area. From the simple tents and panning techniques to the bustling streets and mine shafts of later years. In fact, if it wasn't for all the tourists getting in the way, it would be the perfect place to shoot for a good few hours. Sheesh!!! :-) It was mobbed. The good weather had brought out the crowds and at $47 a ticket they must have been raking it in. It has to be said though, it was worth every cent (if the Aussies still used such a thing)! :-) I loved just wandering round the place. The costumed staff lend an additional air of authenticity except for all the Australian accents which I'm sure would have been a lot less prevalent in the 1800's (hey, maybe a wee job opportunity here)! :-) At one point I inadvertently got between a farrier and prospective horse thief. After getting over the shock of being accused of thievery and realising he was talking past me and not to me, lots of hilarity followed, except for the real thief who scuttled off with only an earful from said farrier. I quietly exited stage left... With a nice wee stallion! ;-) As I said, I could have spent a lot more time here but I wanted to take a quick look through the gold museum before I left, and a quick look it was. Another fascinating wander it was. A great mix of the history of Ballerat itself and the use of gold throughout the world. I definitely could have spent a lot longer here.

I was however, well aware that I had to get checked in at the airport hotel and hand back the car, not something I was particularly looking forward to considering my notoriously bad sense of direction combined with airport signage. I envisaged myself driving onto the runway! Heh, and it wasn't unfounded either. Didn't quite make it onto the runway, but I did have a little trouble on the airport roads. I won't make a complete arse of myself bore you with the details but I did eventually get myself sorted out and only got honked at once or twice. It was fairly quiet! :-)

I got the shuttle bus into Melbourne to meet up with MrRosewarne, MsMun and the kids for one last catch up and a spot of dinner. Rain had stopped play the last time we planned dinner out on Lygon Street, so we headed along that way again. It was busy and the hard sell seemed to be the approach of the day along the row of Italian restaurants, in some cases too hard! We settled on a nice wee place round the corner from the main drag and had a lovely dinner. All too soon it was over though and I needed to head back to the hotel to repack for the flight and get to my bed for a few hours sleep before eating up at the ungodly hour of 3:30 for my first flight. Still, all good practice for the ultra early mornings to come at Uluru over the next day or two. For the Rosewarne's it was back home and more preparations for D's photographic birthday party! It sounds like a wonderful day is planned and I'm sure the kids will have a blast!

And so it is time to say farewell to Victoria. It was the most wonderful introduction to this amazing country. So welcoming was the state with its weather, it hardly seemed like I had left home at all! :-) I met some wonderful people, the Rosewarne's of course above all, but even on my driving tour I met and chatted with some lovely Victorians and travellers from across the globe, and already I have a wealth of memories to take home. Just to think, I'm only really starting my second week too. Happy Days! :-)

As I sit and put the finishing touches to this post at Sydney Airport, waiting for my flight to Ayers Rock, I'm not sure how much time I'll have to post over the coming packed full days. Isn't free airport wifi the best?! :-) I know I've said it before, but I really appreciate everyone's ongoing comments. I'm having a blast and sadly this is leaving little time for blip beyond posting my days - largely before I forget them altogether. It's nice to hear you're enjoying the experience with me. Just called for boarding! It's a roller coaster! :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.