Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lowther Show

I was up at ridiculous o'clock to go to Lowther Show for the day. The impetus for going was that Bradsons, who look after our booking system, were organising ticketing and the car parking for the show ground. It was just lovely to put faces to the people who I have spoken to regularly over the last 3 years. What a delightful bunch they are.

I'm afraid they didn't make the cut for today's blip. It was hard to chose. The show ground was full of interesting people with their equally interesting dogs. There were dog shows - but all classes were for working dogs and most of the dogs attending the show were from those sort of breeds. There were entertainments in two show rings: Cyril the Squirrel, the Essex Dog Team, falconry, jousting and so on. You could learn to fire a shotgun, enter the clay pigeon shoot or the fly casting competition, or eat very typical show type food (not a salad sandwich in sight). All the countryside organisations you might expect were there and some I had not heard of. Did you know about NOBs - the Beaters and Picker ups National Organisation. (Never say I don't tell you something new!)

For me a highlight was the carriage driving. I've never seen this before. It was fascinating and well nigh impossible to photograph. I think this image captures some of the vitality of the event.

Best seen large

Very tired tonight after a great day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.