Beewriter

By Beewriter

Glorious Twelfth

Not glorious for the pheasants or ptarmigans. Not glorious sunshine. It was glorious because Tracey and I did a long bike ride...we rode to Bents. The sun shone, the wind blew...always against us whichever way we went...and the rain poured but it was great fun and I feel quite exhilarated now. We went along the canal on the way there, it was rutted with dried mud even though we have had some rain but it is flat and a good ride. As we neared Bents the heavens opened so we looked a bit like drowned rats as we went into the cafe to have a cuppa. I did have a cheese scone...I don't class this as a cake!

Tracey was a short distance behind me as I arrived at Bents and I was locking up my bike as she turned in. She was a bit shaken and bruised as she had just hit a pothole in the road and fallen off her bike. She was fine, the worst thing was that she was desperate for the loo and she laughingly told me she had wet herself as she fell. Thank goodness we were already soaked from the rain ha ha ha.

We decided to come back on the cycle path along the East Lancs as it is a smooth, but hilly, ride. All round it is just over 20km ride. I had forgotten how much I enjoy riding my bike so I'm glad I'm getting into cycling again.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.