Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Companions

In the best traditions of Sesame Street, today's blip is brought to you by the letters D and F -- D for Derek, and F for Friend. Thanks to Derek I have a camera to bring to Amsterdam. He turned up this morning in answer to my appeal and loaned me his Canon Powershot G7 to use while I'm away and until I've replaced my dear departed Fuji X20.

I had an appointment scheduled with my oncologist in Beaumont, but postponed that so I wouldn't be rushed in town with what I'd told myself were all the last-minute things I needed to sort out for tomorrow. As it happened, I visited the bank, paid a utility bill, and then chilled out around Grafton Street. I had a ball at The Bailey and Davy Byrne's, soaking up the atmosphere and the pleasant afternoon/evening sunshine.

After that I stopped off at Carlucci's for their set menu. But the paté was rock hard, straight from the freezer and I had to send it back, and the breaded chicken was served without any accompaniment other than far too many green leaves. Fortunately the bread pudding dessert was okay, and they gave me a glass of Limoncello and a nice cup of coffee on the house. I wouldn't recommend it.

So, packing needs to be sorted out and all the bits and pieces got together for the morning. I got a travel advisory from Aer Lingus telling us that the summer rush had begun and we should be at the airport three hours in advance of our departure time. That's nonsense: the flight takes an hour and a half, and they want us to be at the airport three hours before? We'll aim for airport arrival at 10:00 for our 11:30 flight. No way are we going to be there at 8:30.

The blip? Outside the Bailey. I liked the reflected reaction between the two ladies.

p.s.
I've decided against taking my MacBook with me on this trip, so won't be able to upload here while I'm away. I'll back-blip when I get back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.