Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Amsterdam leftovers

It's become a bit of a tradition, blipping the bits and bobs at the end of a holiday, and Amsterdam certainly deserves to have its leftover blip. A break with tradition on this occasion is doing while still away, as I've done this time laying things out after the usual clean- and tidy-up at trip's end.

And what a trip this has been! Amsterdam has catapulted itself onto our list of top cities, without any shadow of doubt. It's been a terrific trip. The city is a joy to be in, has an atmosphere of calm about it which is great, and boasts wonderfully friendly and helpful people. I thought I'd get hopelessly confused because of all the canals, but we quickly got the hang of it, and confidently strode out today for our final walk and a bite to eat across from the Old Lutheran Church.

Then it was time to go back to our apartment, hand back the keys, thank our wonderful landlord/host and get the tram to Central Station and the train to Schipol airport. Our flight home was at 5:00 pm, and we were back at my place by 6:00 Dublin time. I got a few essential groceries, we had a quick look through the photographs we'd taken, and then Carl got in his car and took himself Southside.

I was in bed before 10:00, tired but happy after a really wonderful city break. We'll see you again, Amsterdam!

It will take a little while for me to go through the photographs and make my Blipfoto selections and do my back-blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.