Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Baggot Street reflected

It was simple. All that was on today's agenda was doing some business in the bank and bringing a CD into town with artwork for digital printing. Not difficult at all, but still I managed to make a mess of it. I was half way in to town when I realised that I'd left the artwork CD at home, at which stage it would have been too late to turn back, pick it up, and still get to the bank before it closed for the day. So the digital printing will have to wait for tomorrow, but at least I got the wretched bank business out of the way.

Naturally, this being my second day as a Blipper, I took the camera along for the ride. My bank is in Baggot Street, so I stuck around that general area for a couple of hours clicking away merrily and finding places and sights I'd never seen before. All in all, a fascinating experience which I wouldn't have had if it weren't for blipfoto responsibilities. But that was the easy bit. The difficult bit was deciding which of the many images to choose to put up here as my journal entry for 22nd May. Not at all easy. I went for a bite to eat before going over to the National Concert Hall to meet friends for a concert given by the London Symphony Orchestra (the final event in this season's series of performances by visiting orchestras). I half thought that the NCH might yield an image to sum up the day, but photography isn't permitted inside, and things were complicated there anyway by the late arrival of the orchestra due to industrial action by air traffic controllers in Italy and a consequent late start to the concert.

Late home after a couple of gins, I sorted through the day's crop and finally chose this from the many possibilities. It really says nothing about the events of the day, as I woould ideally prefer, apart from presenting a combination of the architecturally old and new combined in one shot. The old Georgian buildings which contribute so much to the character of the part of Dublin I wandered around are here reflected in what was once the Bord na Móna (National Turf Board) offices and is now, I think, the headquarters of O2 in Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.