Fisher folk

Tickets went on sale today for the Sunday's steam train trip. I got down to Dún Laoghaire town hall around 3.15, thinking that would be plenty early enough. It wasn't. As I made my way up to the reception desk I was very surprised to see a 'sold out' notice on display. The girl behind the desk said people had been queueing since before 9.00 am, and all tickets were gone by 12.00.

Not to worry, I thought. I'll go to Dalkey and get tickets there. I got the DART and walked to the Heritage Centre, only to be met with a second 'sold out' notice. I guess we weren't the only ones who thought a steam train experience would be fun. A shame, but I suppose we'll survive.

The weather was really nice as I walked long the sea front to the town hall, and I blipped merrily as I made my progress. This fishing group really took my fancy, and there really wasn't any contest for today's blip when I transferred the afternoon crop onto my pooter. There was a short rainy interlude while I was in Dalkey, but it's now cleared up again. Just as well: Carl is going to Croke Park this evening to see U2 in concert. A bit of dry and not-too-cold weather will make the experience a lot more enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.