Revisited

As DaveW pointed out, it was two years ago yesterday that I broke my wrist. I paid several visits to the Fracture Clinic in the Mater hospital for almost two months afterwards, and it was around that time that I came across a motorcycle shop which displays its wares on the pavement on the way from the Mater to O'Connell Street. I blipped bikes there before, and was fully aware of that as I blipped another batch today.

The bikes weren't the only thing I re-visited today, since I had an appointment at 2.30 for an EMG test which was a long-delayed aftermath of the wrist breakage. I'd forgotten all about having mentioned at the time that I was experiencing pins and needles on the back of my hand, and that the doctor in charge at the Fracture Clinic said he'd refer me for a test to see if I'd also suffered nerve damage. Today's test was extensive, and appeared to indicate that I do indeed have some medial nerve damage. I now have to go back to the Fracture Clinic in September for a follow-up with that doctor.

It was strange to be back in the Mater after my recent protracted stay and open-heart surgery. It was weird to walk around in an utterly different capacity; this time as a visitor and out-patient rather than as an inmate. I found my way back to the Fracture Clinic without any difficulty after the EMG and from there made my way to the ward I'd been discharged from at the end of June. I needed a new prescription for my current range of tablets, and I also waned to visit Louis, who'd been in the bed beside mine for most of my time in the hospital. He's still there (sixteen weeks now), still not fully recovered from his lung problems. He seemed genuinely pleased to see me, and stayed a while with him and his wife, promising as I left to stop by again on 13th August when I'm back for my reassessment appointment with the cardiac surgeon.

I'd taken the DART into town (walked to Dún Laoghaire to get it) and got a taxi to the Mater. I walked in to town to Tara Street station when I'd finished in the hospital and got the DART back again to Carl's neck of the woods -- all in all, quite a bit of walking and good exercise to add to my daily tally. After a lovely bite to eat I settled down to watch the wonderful Gérard Depardieu in the marvellous Cyrano de Bergerac.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.