Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

O is for OLD Friends

When I was 5 years old, Jenny and I started school together and we stayed friends over the years (well over 60 years) so I guess you could call us OLD friends.

Coming from a broken home, I have very fond memories of Jenny's parents being really kind to me - they welcomed me into their home, where they lived with Grandad, and I wished that they were my Mum and Dad. Jenny also had a younger sister, Val, and I wanted a sister like her too.

I remember going to their house to watch the Queen's Coronation in 1953 and I think they were probably the only ones with a television in those days, albeit with just a 9 inch screen!

Jenny was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis when she was 18 and until her marriage, her parents cared for her, as she was in a wheelchair. She and her husband had a daughter and after that, because they lived on the other side of town, we weren't in such regular contact, but I know that at times, her parents still looked after her. Her parents and husband died, and then Jenny died suddenly last year, so Val rang me to let me know.

We kept saying we would meet, and today it happened - we met for coffee and had a great chat about old times and the memories came tumbling out. The photograph shows Val holding a photograph of Jenny, which she kindly gave me.

It was interesting how much we both remembered about our lives back then and it was good to be able to share with one another.

Part of the healing process is sharing with other people who care.
Jerry Cantrell


No one has ever seen God. The ONLY Son, who is truly God
and is closest to the Father, has shown us what God is like.
John 1:18
Contemporary English Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.