Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

P is for Purse.....

..... plus the contents thereof!

Definition:
1. a woman's handbag or pocketbook
2. a small bag, pouch, or case for carrying money


When thinking about a word for the letter P in the Alphabet Challenge, the word PURSE sprang to mind, and having blipped a mess earlier in the week, once I had got all the "stuff" out of my purse, this also looked rather a mess - but the difference is that all this will go back into the purse and it won't look anywhere near as messy!

I am aware, of course, that a purse in the UK is mainly used for money, credit cards, library cards, loyalty cards, store cards, receipts, donor card etc but in America and Canada it probably means the whole handbag and what a lot more mess stuff could be packed into that!

I love my Buxton wallet, and first bought one of these in America and have since bought another one off Ebay as the zip broke (is it any wonder with all this stuff in it?) Maybe I should start sorting out my various messes both at home and in my purse - but life would be so boring then whereas now I never know what I will come across in the deep recesses of my purse. It might even be a £20 note!

For many months at church we have been reading Luke Chapter 10 v 1-12 and doing what is known as "Dwelling in the Word" - we read this particular passage and spend a few minutes meditating on it. We then break into groups of 2 or 3 and listen to what each other has to say about what was meaningful to us and this is then fed back to the leader of the whole group. This passage tells of 70 disciples sent out with the most basic of instructions, and being dependent upon their receivers’ hospitality; one of the things it says in verse 4 is : Do not take a purse or bag or sandals; and do not greet anyone on the road.

I might be able to get along without a purse, bag or sandals, but the second part would be very difficult for me!

In Scripture it says:
‘See, I lay a stone in Zion,
a chosen and PRECIOUS cornerstone,
and the one who trusts in him
will never be put to shame.’
1 Peter 2 : 6
New International Version

Enjoy this song by Chris Tomlin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.